A Lubec, Maine, neighbor
The historic town of Cherryfield is nestled along both sides of the Narraguagus River. First settled in 1757 as Township 11 west of Machias, the town was incorporated on February 9, 1816.
Although it is the Blueberry Capital of the World, the town was named for the abundant wild cherry trees growing along the river. Lumber was king for many years. For a span of about 30 years in the late 1800s, 12 to 15 million board feet of lumber were shipped annually from Cherryfield. This fact accounts for the many beautiful homes with architectural designs including Second Empire, Federal, Greek Revival, Italianate, Queen Anne, and Colonial Revival. Roughly 75 acres on both sides of the river are a historic district on the National Register of Historic Places known as the Cherryfield Historic District. This district comprises a collection of period structures dating from c.1750 to 1890.
The Narraguagus was one of the premier Atlantic Salmon rivers on the East Coast. People came from all over the country to wet a fly in one of the 18 salmon pools along the riverbanks. Today Cherryfield still has the beautiful homes and building of a bygone era. Several of these have found new lives as retail shops and other businesses. You can see more of what the town has to offer by going to the Destination Cherryfield website and Downeast Maine Online. The town population was 1,232 at the 2010 census.
Places to eat:
Grammie Donut's—Route 1
North Street Café—North Street
Places to stay:
Englishman's B & B—Main Street
Places to shop:
Riverlily—Corner of Wilson Hill Road and Route 1
4 Main Street Antiques—Main Street
River Bank Gallery—Main Street
Cherryfield General Store—Main Street
C. H. Mathews Grocery Store—Main Street